Behind the Name of “Luna & Lotus”

Luna & Lotus is a brainchild of mine that happened very organically. The name is not just naming two things that have no substance to me. In fact, they both have deep meaning to me and my life morals.

The name “Luna” means “moon” in spanish. I have always been fascinated with the word itself and the feeling that it creates in me. It creates a sense of wonder and creativity in me. It creates the same wonder in myself that I feel when I stare into the sky at night looking at all the stars and the moon.

The name “Lotus” holds a much closer meaning to myself and my morals. I can’t remember a moment that the lotus flower wasn’t my favorite. While the lotus flower may seem extremely unconventional for a favorite flower, that’s exactly what I love about it. It’s a unique flower that has a very important meaning to many across the globe. Many religions find this flower sacred because it signifies something deeper than what initially meets the eye.

The Lotus flower is so incredibly beautiful to me because of its beginnings. It grows from muck through the water and into the light. It rises through everything. It signifies everything that I strive to become. Through dark times, you rise and come out on top. 

Leave a comment